top of page

7th Annual Top Shorts 2021 Nominations Announced

The nominations for the 7th Annual Top Shorts 2021 have been announced!

The Stranger, directed by Katherine Oostman, earned most nominations this year. Congratulations to all the nominees!

Best of Fest 2021

The Morning Walk - Louise Hylland, Marc Harpsøe

HotHed - David Spring

Pork Chop - Katherine Guggenberger

A Girl and a Gun - Pierre-Edouard Joubert

Monstrus Circus - Jordan Inconstant

The Peak - Satoshi Takahashi

ROAM - David Jung

The Last Step - Stanislav Matveev

The Great Artist - Indrani Pal-Chaudhuri

Pretty Metal - Mikhail Tot

The Stranger - Katherine Oostman

Inertia City - Vellas, Reinaldo Faria

Best Narrative Film of the Year

Sleepwalk - Filipe Melo

Windblown - Usher Morgan, Katie Vincent

Mabel - Kimberley Wintle

Breaking the Silence - Seayoon Jeong

Wireless - Criss Gidas

Bongo - Jacob Lallas

Paz - Andrew Gutierrez

Metamorphosis - Elaine Xia

RED - David Newton, Beau Fowler

Dress - Paulina Lagudi Ulrich

The Stranger - Katherine Oostman

I am - Ruan Yi

Best Indie Film of the Year

Summer Rain - Renzo Montoya

Hot Take - Arthur Glover

Blinded - Cecilia Choi

If You Love Her, Let Her Go - Ilan Zerrouki

Morti's Law - Marcel Wohlfahrt, Natalie Kölbl

A Threat to Justice - Chris Files

F8th (= Rebirth + Faith) - Glenn Plummer

To Kill a Truth - Kiriakos Kotsinis

Gunther - Ryan Rowley

Pebbles - Renee Bourke

Awakened - Yulian Mateo

How Was It For You? - LIM

Best Drama of the Year

Swann - Antonio Petrone

Something Safe - Shaun Lupton

Pentimento - Benjamin O'Donnell

The Monster's Club - Federica Alice Carlino

Heartland - Jahmil Eady

Miss Boundless - Qiyu Zhou

The System - Michael Cruz

Hurtful Truth - Marie France Louis, Eman Elsweisy

The Great Artist - Indrani Pal-Chaudhuri

Shevolution - Seidy Lopez

Becoming Everything - Dan Lowënstein

Maryam - Maza White, Doug Brooks

Best Comedy of the Year

Big Break - Dicle Ozcer

HotHed - David Spring

Free Desk* - Keith Macri

A Girl and a Gun - Pierre-Edouard Joubert

The Sister Solution - Casey Cooper Johnson, Antoneta Kastrati

Chronicles of Gnarnia: The Rex Chadwick Story - Brian Colin Foley

Bucko & Junior - Jordan Rader

Divorce School - Dana Marisa Schoenfeld, Julie Zelman

Ride the Wave - Colleen Davie Janes

Pretty Metal - Mikhail Tot

Matty Boy - Dr Shahid Kamal

New Growth - Karimah Westbrook

Best Thriller of the Year

Disconnected - Traci Hays

Countless Sheep - Rhett Wellington, Riley Robbins

Kongo - Bryan Wynn Sutton, John Roche

Velvet Farewell - Micheal Eastman

Fugitive Zero - Joe Lam

The Animal - Oscar Cowie

Windblown - Usher Morgan, Katie Vincent

The Climbing Perch - Daniel Gomez Bagby

A Bullet For Your Thoughts - Doug Williams

Non-transferable - Jack Veasey

The Wolf Delivers - Thomas Crouser Jr

Vincent - Nicholas Andrews

Best Horror of the Year

Orisha - Drew Anthony

Susie - Jordan Doig

Mark of the Rougarou - Erica Duke

Lies Inside - Corey Emanuel Jr.

Vac Attack - Kyle Lane

Meanwhile At A Cabin Somewhere Near Fairplay, CO - Michael Chenette

Metamorphosis - Elaine Xia

What If - Tammy Klembith

The Invitation - Thorsten Schade

Vincent - Nicholas Andrews

Satanico - J.R. Curtis

Till Death - Andrew Thomas

Best Action Film of the Year

Battle - Emre Orun

Operation Shell Shock: Phantoms - Allan Riggs

Office 86 - Jyo Carolino

Saving Grayson - Breck Cuddy

RED - David Newton, Beau Fowler

Shadow Valley - Isaac Joel

Artificial Souldier - Jason Gonzalez

F I V E - Will Sidaros

Best Sci-Fi of the Year

Infinitus - Cameron Currin

Plant - Carlos Milite

River - Emily Skye

The Counterfeit Mind - Malek Haneen

Chronofilm - Robert Hypes

Finger Guns - Nikola Sreckovic

ROAM - David Jung

F I V E - Will Sidaros

(Dys)Functional - Adam Nowak

Ecclesiastes - Lola Rùi

Refuge - Sina Sultani

Volume Control - Giorge Souladze

Best Experimental Film of the Year

Collapse - Alberto Martín-Aragón

One Actor Short 3 - Yuval David

Spotted - Shranjay Arora, Seda Anbarci

Pandemia - Katerina Giannakopoulou

Isolation Animation - Ruth Ducker

Popped Culture - Spencer Flynn

Sin - Alberto Martín-Aragón

Returning Home - Bhushan Thakkar

The Accident - Paul Brian Osorio, Jayasinhji Jhala

Dû - Eric Marie Afer

clarity. - Daisy Paroczy Hickey

Mosaic - ZHUANG Guantianxia

Best Inspirational Film of the Year

To You, Me & The Next Generation. - Sam Akel

A Line Unbroken - David Earnhardt, Patricia Earnhardt

Making Waves - Laura Zéphirin

As the Wave Broke - Alexandra Bekiou

Come Back - Alban Pauly, Aurore Klein

clarity. - Daisy Paroczy Hickey

Xiety - Carlos Torres, Karen Torres

Ye Shall Be Hindered From Loving Me - Karlos Alastruey

Black Water - Jenn Xu

Looking Through the Trees - Justin Morfin

The Funny Runner - Rob Steger

Under The Same Sky - Alison Chace

Best Fantasy Film of the Year

Hollow - Nicholas Andrews, Rosie K